RESOLUTION NO. 2025-15

VILLAGE OF YORKVILLE COUNTY OF RACINE, STATE OF WISCONSIN

A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING AND APPOINTING COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND OFFICIALS TO VARIOUS POSITIONS IN VILLAGE OF YORKVILLE GOVERNMENT

THE VILLAGE BOARD OF THE VILLAGE OF YORKVILLE, COUNTY OF RACINE, STATE OF WISCONSIN, RESOLVES AS FOLLOWS:

WHEREAS, the following appointment terms expire April 30, 2025, unless otherwise noted:

- 1. Plan Commissioner, three-year term;
- 2. Plan Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Plan Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 3. Plan Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Plan Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 4. Sewer and Water Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Sewer and Water Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025):
- 5. Sewer and Water Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Sewer and Water Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025):
- 6. Sewer and Water Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Sewer and Water Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 7. Stormwater Commissioner, five-year term;
- 8. Stormwater Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Stormwater Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 9. Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025):
- Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 11. Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), one-year term (term expired on April 14, 2025);
- 12. Board of Appeals member, three-year term;
- 13. Sex Offender Residency Appeals Board member, three-year term; and

WHEREAS, Wisconsin Statutes Section 61.23(1) provides that persons serving in appointive offices shall serve until their respective successors are appointed and qualify, unless otherwise provided by ordinance; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-81 provides for the designation and appointment of all members of any standing and special committee established by the Village Board by the Village President, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-112 provides for the biennial designation and appointment of the following officers by the Village President for two-year terms, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board:

- 1. Weed Commissioner;
- 2. Building Inspector;
- 3. Electrical Inspector;
- 4. Plumbing Inspector;
- 5. Emergency Government Director;
- 6. Zoning Administrator; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-202 provides for the staggered designation and appointment of citizen Plan Commissioner members for three-year terms by the Village President, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-231 provides for the staggered designation and appointment of citizen Board of Review alternate members for three-year terms by the Village President, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-264 provides for the staggered designation and appointment of two resident members to the Yorkville Sewer and Water Commission for five-year terms, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 2-264 provides for the designation and appointment of three Village Board members to the Yorkville Sewer and Water Commission by the Village President for one-year terms; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 54-277 provides for the staggered designation and appointment of citizen Yorkville Stormwater Utility District Commission members for five-year terms by the Village President, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 55-2 provides for the staggered designation and appointment of Yorkville Board of Appeals members for three-year terms and alternate Yorkville Board of Appeals members for three-year terms by the Village President, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board; and

WHEREAS, Village of Yorkville Code of Ordinances Section 30-130(j)(2) provides for the staggered designation and appointment of Sex Offender Residency Appeals Board members for three-year terms and a Sex Offender Residency Appeals Board alternate member for a three-year term by the Village Board Chairperson, which shall be subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Village Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Yorkville Village Board designates and appoints the following individuals to the following positions with terms of office to expire on the following dates:

- 1. Timothy DeGarmo, Plan Commissioner, April 30, 2028;
- 2. Cory Bartlett (Village Board representative on the Plan Commission), Plan Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- Douglas Nelson (Village Board representative on the Plan Commission),
 Plan Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- 4. Daniel Maurice, (Village Board representative on the Yorkville Sewer and Water Commission), Yorkville Sewer and Water Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- 5. Douglas Nelson (Village Board representative on the Yorkville Sewer and Water Commission), Yorkville Sewer and Water Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- 6. Steve Nelson (Village Board representative on the Yorkville Sewer and Water Commission), Yorkville Sewer and Water Commissioner, April 20, 2026:
- 7. Clinton Funk, Stormwater Commissioner, April 30, 2030;
- 8. Steve Nelson (Village Board representative on the Stormwater Commission), Stormwater Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- 9. Robert Funk (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner, April 20, 2026:
- 10. Douglas Nelson (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner, April 20, 2026:
- 11. Steve Nelson (Village Board representative on the Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commission), Union Grove-Yorkville Fire Commissioner, April 20, 2026;
- 12. Bradley Thom, Board of Appeals member, April 30, 2028;
- 13. Joseph Bergs, MD, Sex Offender Residency Appeals Board member, April 30, 2028; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Racine County Development Services Department currently functions under contract as the Village's Zoning Administrator for the period ending December 31, 2025; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that no appointment be made to the position of Emergency Government Director at this time; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that no appointment be made to the position of Board of Review alternate citizen member until such time as a suitable candidate is identified: and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that no appointment be made to the currently vacant position of Board of Appeals alternate member until such time as a suitable candidate is identified; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that no appointment be made to the currently vacant position of Sex Offender Residency Appeals Board alternate member until such time as a suitable candidate is identified.

This Resolution was adopted by the Village Board of the Village of Yorkville, County of Racine, State of Wisconsin, this 28th day of April, 2025.

VILLAGE OF YORKVILLE

Ayes: <u>5</u> By: /s/ Douglas Nelson

Douglas Nelson, President

Nays: 0

Attest: /s/ Janine Carls Abstentions: 0

Janine Carls, Clerk

Absences: 0