YORKVILLE STORM WATER UTIITY COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

August 2, 2018

Chairman Steve Nelson called the meeting of the YSWUC to order at 6:00 p.m. Present were Chairman Nelson, Sherry Gruhn, Tom Lauber, John Vyvyan, and our newest member, Clinton Funk.

Minutes from our February 21, 2018 meeting were approved on a motion from Tom Lauber, seconded by John Vyvyan and carried.

We met to discuss the Racine County Drainage Board's contract for the maintenance of the West Branch canal. Being that the Village of Union Grove had paid their previous commitment for the work on the West Branch, and they agreed to the new contract, this Commission then approved the contact as well. We will advise the Village Board to have the contract signed and sent back to the Racine County Drainage District. The contact is for a annual \$20,000 payment for the next three years which is the same as the last contract. Motion by Tom Lauber, seconded by John Vyvyan to have the Village Board sign the contract. Motion Carried.

We also agreed that the East Branch should be sprayed soon. Steve will contact Grassman and see if he can get it done in the near future. Steve will also contact Jason Christensen, engineer, to see if he will be able to help with a few residents who have expressed that they did not want the canal sprayed on their property. Motion by Steve Nelson, seconded by John Vyvyan to have Grassman spray the canal. Motion Carried. This is a budgeted item.

We briefly discussed the Storm water ordinance and the role that the commission plays with drainage issues within the Village. We determined that the commission was organized with the purpose of cleaning out the East Branch and helping with the West Branch maintenance. We are not of the opinion that this commission should be handling any additional drainage issues in the Village.

Our next meeting will be October 4, at 6:00. Purpose will be to prepare the budget for 2019.

There was no other business to come before the commission. The meeting was adjourned at 6:45 pm on a motion by Tom Lauber seconded by John Vyvyan. Motion Carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry Gruhn, Secretary